200 Text

The Albany Institute is situated between Washington Avenue in the front and Elk Street in the back. The view out of the glass atrium from the Elk Street side of the building overlooks one of Albany’s historic neighborhoods, Arbor Hill. The Arbor Hill neighborhood was established in the late 1700s but experienced its largest growth in the 1800s fueled by the Erie Canal opening in 1825, which entered the Hudson River near this section of the city the railroad line which entered Albany from the north after 1844. By the mid-1800s, Arbor Hill became a fashionable residential district inhabited by doctors, lawyers, and business owners. During the early 1900s, Arbor Hill developed into a mostly white, working-class neighborhood and then a predominantly African American neighborhood in the post-World War II era. Today, Arbor Hill is home to three historic districts — Clinton Avenue, Ten Broeck Triangle, and Lark Street — and numerous historic buildings are scattered throughout the neighborhood. The Stephen and Harriet Myers House was the residence of abolitionists Stephen and Harriet Myers; the house was a stop on the Underground Railroad and is currently operated as a historic house museum by the Underground Railroad Education Center. Ten Broeck Mansion is home to the Albany County Historical Association's headquarters, which holds events, exhibits, lectures, concerts, and other programs that showcase Albany County's rich history. Be sure to visit these sites and others throughout the city to learn about Arbor Hill and the rest of Albany’s historic neighborhoods.